Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Missing From Songwriters Hall of Fame (Updated 2017 Inductees)

The 2017 Songwriters Hall Inductees have been announced: Jay-Z, Peter Cetera/James Pankow/ Robert Lamm, Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds, Max Martin & Berry Gordy (inducted last year, formally this year).

According to the Song Hall's website, voters are made up of "music industry professionals" and members of Performing Rights Organzations like BMI and ASCAP.

But, this article by Roger Friedman from 2015, fills in some of the questions I have about this Hall.  According to Friedman, the Song Hall once had an "unspoken" rule about no posthumous inductees.  Which would explain how George Harrison, Jimi Hendrix  and others have failed to get in by 2015.  But with the 2015 & 2016 inductions of Jerry Garcia, Willie Dixon, Bernard Edwards and Marvin Gaye, that stupid rule has been eliminated.
Take a look at the names below.  Most have at least been nominated.  None of these are in the Songwriters Hall of Fame as of 2017.

Alan Jackson
Aretha Franklin 
Allee Willis
B.B. King
Bert Berns
Bill Anderson
Billy Joe Shaver
Bob McDill
Bobby Womack
Bonnie Raitt
Boz Scaggs
Bryan Adams
Bryan Ferry
Carl Perkins
Cat Stevens
Chrissie Hynde
Chuck Willis
Curly Putnam
Dallas Frazier
Dan Fogelberg
Dan Penn
David Gates
Dean Dillon
Dion DiMucci
Donna Summer/Giorgio Moroder/Pete Bellotte
Dwight Yoakam
George Harrison
George Michael
Gloria Estefan
Guy Clark
Harry Nilsson
Harry Wayne Casey
Isley Brothers
J.J. Cale
Jeff Lynne
Jimi Hendrix
Joe South
John Hiatt
John D. Loudermilk
John Mellencamp
John Prine
Kate Bush
Kenny Loggins
Kool & The Gang
Led Zeppelin
Lefty Frizzell
Lindsey Buckingham/Stevie Nicks/Christine McVie
Lou Reed
Lucinda Williams
Luther Vandross
Mark Knopfler
Max D. Barnes
Michael McDonald
Mike Chapman/Nicky Chinn
Morrissey/Johnny Marr
Muddy Waters
Neil Young
Nick Lowe
Paul Overstreet
Paul Weller
Percy Mayfield
Pete Townshend
Peter Gabriel 
Phil Ochs
Ric Ocasek
Robbie Robertson
Robert "Mutt" Lange
Rod Stewart
Rod Temperton
Rodney Crowell
Roger Miller
Roger Waters/David Gilmour
Rosanne Cash
Rudy Toombs
Shel Silverstein
Sheryl Crow
Sly Stone
Sonny Throckmorton
Spooner Oldham
Steve Earle
Steve Miller
Steve Perry/Neal Schon/Jonathan Cain
Steve Winwood
Tim Hardin
Tom T. Hall
Tony Macaulay
Tony Joe White
Townes Van Zandt
Tracey Chapman
Vince Gill
Walter Becker/Donald Fagen
Warren Zevon
Waylon Jennings
William Bell
William "Mickey" Stevenson

BTW- In some cases I put the whole group down, which is what the Hall did when they inducted all the members of Queen.

Below is a link to the Song Hall's website:


Labels: ,

Add to Technorati Favorites