Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Missing From Country Music Hall of Fame (Updated 2016 Inductees)

The process to get into the Country Hall is somewhat similar to the Rock Hall.  A nominating committee of 12 puts forth 10-20 names, which are voted on by 100 (or so names).  One act is chosen from 3 categories every year: Veterans Era (40 years after achieving "national prominence").  Modern Era (20 years after achieving "national prominence").   Non-Performer, Songwriter and Recording/Touring Musician categories rotate every 3 years.

Below are a list of artists, session musicians, songwriters, etc., that have yet to be inducted:

Lynn Anderson
Asleep At The Wheel
Clint Black
Brooks & Dunn
Tony Brown
Archie Campbell
June Carter Cash
Rosanne Cash
Rodney Crowell
Steve Earle
Freddy Fender
Flatlanders (Jimmie Dale Gilmore, Joe Ely, Butch Hancock)
Dallas Frazier
Crystal Gayle
Johnny Gimble
Vern Gosdin
Guy Clark
Johnny Horton
Buddy Killen
Jerry Lee Lewis
Patty Loveless
Lyle Lovett
Maddox Brothers and Rose
Jimmy Martin
Anne Murray
Gram Parsons
Johnny Paycheck
Curly Putnam
Eddie Rabbitt
Jerry Reed
Charlie Rich
Don Rich
Linda Ronstadt
Doug Sahm
Billy Joe Shaver
Ricky Skaggs
Stanley Brothers
Ray Stevens
Gary Stewart
Tanya Tucker
Townes Van Zandt
Jerry Jeff Walker
Gene Watson
Dottie West
Keith Whitley
Hank Williams Jr.
Dwight Yoakam

Side note:  In 2001 the Hall, realizing a backlog existed, inducted 12 members.  While some wish they would induct more than 1 member from each category, they've stuck with that number since 2001.

Suggestions, etc.  email:

Labels: , , ,

Add to Technorati Favorites