Thursday, October 16, 2014

2015 Songwriters Hall of Fame Nominees

The latest batch of Songwriters Hall of Fame nominees have been announced.  Below are the 2015 nominees.  

Performers: Gloria Estefan, Cat Stevens, Toby Keith, Steve Miller, Steve Winwood, Ann Wilson & Nancy Wilson, and Harry Wayne "K.C." Casey.

Non-performing songwriters:  Linda Perry, Allee Willis, Rod Temperton, William "Mickey" Stevenson, Bobby Braddock, Bob McDill, Rudy Clark & Randy Edelman, Mike Chapman & Nicky Chinn, Sandy Linzer & Denny Randell, P.F. Sloan & Steve Barri and Robert Hunter & Jerry Garcia.                    
(Source: Newsday)

But the real fun is taking a look at some of the people that haven't been inducted as of 2015.  Most of these fall under the performer category which means I'm missing a few non-performer names.  

I have no idea how nominees are selected or how many people vote and what the demographics are, but take a look at this list.  It's stunning how most of these haven't been inducted by now.  

Not Inducted:

Pete Townshend
Neil Young
Cat Stevens
George Harrison
Jimi Hendrix
Sly Stone
Rod Stewart
Dion DiMucci
Rod Temperton
Walter Becker/Donald Fagen
Warren Zevon
Nile Rodgers & Bernard Edwards
Bobby Womack
Elvis Costello
Tom Petty
Lindsey Buckingham/Stevie Nicks/Christine McVie
Jeff Lynne
Steve Miller
John Hiatt
John Mellencamp
David Gates
Led Zeppelin
Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds
Donna Summer/Giorgio Moroder/Pete Bellotte
Roger Waters/David Gilmour
George Michael
Robbie Robertson
Steve Perry/Neal Schon/Jonathan Cain 
Tom T. Hall
Waylon Jennings

John Prine
Bert Berns
Harry Nilsson
Steve Winwood
Robert "Mutt" Lange
Jimmy Jam/Terry Lewis

Chrissie Hynde
Joe South
B.B. King
J.J. Cale
Peter Gabriel
Harry Wayne Casey

Jerry Garcia/Robert Hunter
Bill Anderson
Bobby Braddock
Mike Chapman & Nicky Chinn
William "Mickey" Stevenson

Add to Technorati Favorites