Tuesday, March 03, 2015

Missing From the Songwriters Hall of Fame (Updated March 2015)

The 2015 Songwriters Hall of Fame Inductees were announced today:  Cyndi Lauper, Linda Perry, Jerry Garcia & Robert Hunter, Bobby Braddock, Willie Dixon and Toby Keith.

All I'm going to say is I have no idea who votes for this Hall or what the demographics are.

But, this article by Roger Friedman fills in some of the questions I have about this Hall.  According to Friedman, the Song Hall once had an "unspoken" rule about no posthumous inductees.  Which would explain how George Harrison, Jimi Hendrix and others have failed to get in.  But with the 2015 induction of Jerry Garcia and Willie Dixon they've now changed that rule.
Take a look at the names below.  None of these are in the Songwriters Hall of Fame as of 2015.

It's an incredible list.  And you think the Rock Hall is missing some names.

Not inducted as of 2015:

Pete Townshend
Neil Young
Cat Stevens
George Harrison

Jimi Hendrix
Sly Stone
Rod Stewart
Dion DiMucci
Rod Temperton
Walter Becker/Donald Fagen
Warren Zevon
Nile Rodgers & Bernard Edwards
Bobby Womack
Elvis Costello
Tom Petty
Lindsey Buckingham/Stevie Nicks/Christine McVie
Jeff Lynne
Steve Miller
John Hiatt
John Mellencamp
David Gates
Led Zeppelin

Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds

Luther Vandross
Donna Summer/Giorgio Moroder/Pete Bellotte
Roger Waters/David Gilmour
George Michael
Robbie Robertson
Steve Perry/Neal Schon/Jonathan Cain 
Tom T. Hall
Waylon Jennings
John Prine

Billy Joe Shaver
Townes Van Zandt
Bert Berns
Harry Nilsson
Steve Winwood
Robert "Mutt" Lange
Jimmy Jam/Terry Lewis
Chrissie Hynde
Joe South
Tony Joe White

Dan Fogelberg
Rodney Crowell
B.B. King
J.J. Cale
Peter Gabriel
Harry Wayne Casey

Alan Jackson
Steve Miller
Boz Scaggs 

BTW- In some cases I put the whole group down, which is what this Hall did when they inducted all the members of Queen.

Add to Technorati Favorites